New album featuring Maiko Watson available now!


Album art is IN 3D – free pair of MM 3d glasses with each CD purchased.

Buy it here!

After 7 years of line-up changes, studio changes and trying to answer the question, “Who’s Moses Mayes?”, Moses has completed the album they had always meant to make. The new album, simply titled, “Moses Mayes featuring Maiko Watson” will be officially released in Canada on Dublum Records on Nov 1.

2011 was a year of significant transformation for Moses Mayes, as founding members Mark Penner and Grant Paley decided that spring to move on to explore other opportunities. Stephen Arundell stepped forward as the new lead guitarist in the new line-up, with Antin, Nathan and Julian continuing to fill out the rhythmic core.

Work continued on the songs as Nathan and Antin, the 2 remaining founding members, began to explore a style that would put even more energy into their songs. A style defined by more intense drums and Stephen’s edgy guitar but still with the Rhodes, Moog and bass grooves that gave their previous work its unique flavour. It would be another 6 months before the final piece would fall into place.

Following a rehearsal for a show in December 2011 in which Nathan was accompanying Maiko on keys, discussion turned to the new Moses songs. Both performers quickly agreed that the combination of the disco/dance/funk sound of Moses Mayes with the soulful intensity of Maiko’s vocals would be something they’d very much like to hear. Moses was a band without a singer and Maiko was a singer without a band. After months of studio sessions and tracks sent back and forth between Winnipeg (Moses) and Toronto (Maiko), the ablum was complete.

Mixed and mastered with Andrew Yankiwski (Precursor Productions) in Winnipeg the album finally captures the high energy of a Moses Mayes show in a studio recording.



New Photos